The Food of Champions – Fodder for the Nibbling Competitor

Almond MacaroonsThe Food of Champions

Fodder for the Nibbling Competitor

By Alice Verberne-Benamara

We’re one month into the New Year and my husband is on a workout craze. Mind you, he is in excellent shape for his age, but he can’t seem to shake off the fact that when he was 20, he could have been the next Zinedine Zidane.

Yeah, yeah, I am sure all you wives out there hear the same routine from your men’. “I coulda’ been a contender…”

My husband’s idol, Zidane was renowned for his elegance, vision and technique in soccer. Hey, I get it; I’d like to make food dishes that reflect elegance, vision, technique – move over Julia Child!

I am the new food paladin – a determined advocate and defender of the noble cause of feeding my man in a way that he feels not only luxuriated, but; properly fueled to try out for the next World Cup – the cup may be filled with Champagne, mind you.

Which brings me to the question: Is there really a sweet treat that could be good for you? To further convolute the situation, my husband has varied interests; one of them is junk food.

Last year in Louisiana, my brother introduced my French hubby to the American gourmet food “ding-dongs.” My spouse was mesmerized. “Zee Ding-Dongs, ahhhhm, American fast food, eh?” My relatives all mimicked him (behind his back).

Needless to say, I caught my bridegroom snacking on them in between his workout sets while doing his weight lifting routine. My brother thought it was hilarious to hear my better half say “ding-dong” with a French accent. He rewarded him, like a puppy, with another one of the treats upon each request.

Although my husband may not have had the chance to compete with Zidane, who just so happens to have been the best European footballer (soccer player) of the past 50 years, I want to encourage him nonetheless in his attempt to stay fit. In order to energize my husband in his workout efforts and feed his sweet tooth, I decided to make a tasty treat that’s high in protein and very French.

Better yet, it’s common not only in France, but also in the Magreb, from where my husband’s (and Zidane’s) family originate. This version combines almond meal with egg whites, both high in protein. The only other ingredients are sugar and flavoring. It uses no flour, no added fat and is soft and chewy.

Eh, alors! Zee Ding-Dong just can’t compare.

Almond Macaroons Makes about 20

3 cups almond, peanut or walnut meal

1-1/2 cups sifted confectioner’s sugar (divided)

3 egg whites

1 tsp almond extract (rose or orange blossom water may be substituted, or even a little rum or other liquor of choice)

Preheat oven to 325 degrease Fahrenheit.

Place 20 fluted paper cups on a baking sheet.

In a large bowl, mix together the meal, and one cup of sugar.

In a separate bowl beat the egg whites to soft peak stage.

Gently fold the nut mixture into the egg whites.

Drop tablespoonfuls of the mixture into the paper cups.

Bake 20-25 minutes until the macaroons are light golden.

Dust with remaining confectioner’s sugar; allow to cool.

Store in airtight container.

Should stay fresh for about two weeks.

Tell me what you think...